VMware vCenter 5.x service does not start after reboot

vc1Issue: VMware VirtualCenter Server service  does not start after reboot of the vCenter Server. Below is the error when restarting  vcenter service manually post reboot:
 
Following events are logged  in windows event logs:
Event ID:7024: The VMware VirtualCenter Server service terminated with service-specific error The system cannot find the file specified..
Event ID: 1000: The description for Event ID 1000 from source VMware VirtualCenter Server cannot be found. Either the component that raises this event is not installed on your local computer or the installation is corrupted. You can install or repair the component on the local computer. If the event originated on another computer, the display information had to be saved with the event. The following information was included with the event:
Failed to intialize VMware VirtualCenter. Shutting down…the message resource is present but the message is not found in the string/message table
Cause/Solution: As it turned out, this problem was related to having IIS on the server (Virtual Center runs Apache web server). Stop the following services:
>>IIS Admin Service
>>World Wide Publishing
Now, try starting the “VMware VirtualCenter Server” service, it takes few seconds/minutes but gets started! Then manually start the “VMware VirtualCenter Management Webservices”.
About cloudray

Predominantly based around Virtualization, but will include other technology related information and anything else I find interesting and feel the need to share with you. I also use this Blog as both a place to store useful information that I think that will come in handy to me at some point in the future, and also a place to help aid my learning. I find a great way to learn about something is to research about it and then write it up in my own words. I'm Pushpal Ray, from India. As a certified VCP3/4/5 professional, I am currently working as an Independent Consultant. Over 10 years of IT-industry experience, currently focused around the Desktop Virtualization(End-User Computing). I also have extensive experience in Windows Administration, Datacenter Migration, Workload profiling & benchmarking. At my leisure, I enjoy hiking, running, photography, spend hours in my fav coffee shop & spend quality time with my wife. Occasionally, catch up with few friends for a drink!
This entry was posted in Enterprise Virtualization, vSphere and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to VMware vCenter 5.x service does not start after reboot

  1. Swapneel says:

    I do not have those services in my server. So how to do you solve the error?

  2. M.B. says:

    Thank you so much. This worked. None of the other VMWare articles did.

  3. S.P says:

    It works, Thanks

  4. shoeb says:

    It worked, bingo. I just stopped the World Wide Publishing service and tried to start the vCenter Server service and it started.

Leave a Reply

